Democracy, Latest, Politics

PDP chairmanship aspirants sign peace accord, pledge to respect result

By Olawale Abdul-Fatah

Ahead of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) convention in December 9th, Ekiti state governor, Ayodele Fayose, has disclosed that the eight contenders for National Chairmanship seat of the party have signed peace accord and agreed to work with any of them elected at the party’s Convention.

The governor stated that the reasons for their action was because the convention would serve as a template for future conventions in the country and marks the party’s return to power through the 2019 election.

Fayose, who also doubles as the chairman, PDP Governors Forum, disclosed the agreement of the eight contenders during an interview with newsmen Monday after a five and half hour closed door meeting in Enugu state.

The contenders, which include six aspirants from South-West and two from South-South, were Bode George, Jimi Agbaje, Taoheed Adedoja, Tunde Adeniran, Rasheed Ladoja, Gbenga Daniel, Raymond Dokpesi and Uche Secondus.

Fayose said that the governors met to deliberate on the forthcoming national convention and discussed with the chairmanship aspirants on what they wanted at the event next month.

We put PDP first and PDP is first. We are leaving Enugu believing that we will take power at the centre in 2019. We believe we will take over Anambra if the election is free, fair and credible. Nigeria is of age to conduct election that is acceptable internationally,” he added.

Governors at the meeting were, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Enugu; Okezie Ikpeazu, Abia; Darius Ishaku, Taraba; Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe.

Others were Emmanuel Udom, Akwa-Ibom; Ben Ayade,Cross River; ifeanyi Okowa, Delta; Seriake Dickson, Bayelsa; Nyesom Wike, River, while Ebonyi was represented by the deputy governor.

Also present at the meeting were former governors, Gabriel Suswam of Benue and Godswill Akpabio of Akwa-Ibom. Aside this, the meeting graced by former External Affairs Minister, Tom Ikimi, Kema Chikwe, former Senate President Adolpus Wabara, and incumbent Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.