• follow us in feedly
Football, Latest, Sports

Liverpool striker, Sallah, retains CAF footballer of the year award

By Olawale Abdul-Fatah

Confederation of African Football, (CAF) has declared Egypt and Liverpool striker, Mohamed Salah, winner of the 2018 African Footballer of Year Award for the second time.

Sallah retained the title on Monday, defeating his Liverpool colleague and Senegal striker, Sadio Mane and Arsenal striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, to it.

It would be recalled that the trio vied for the title in 2018 but the Egyptian striker peeped both player to the trophy.

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa was crowned African Women’s Player of the Year 2018 at the Aiteo-CAF awards, while Nigeria’s female team won Women’s National Team of the Year.

On players plying their trade on the continent, Achraf Hakimi was named African Youth Player of the Year 2018.

Mo Salah was also not surprisingly named among Africa’s Best X1 players that did not include any Nigerian.

Other players on the 11-man list were Aubameyang, Mane, Riyad Mahrez, Keita, Partey, Koulibaly, Bailly, Madhi Benatia and Aurier.

Onyango as the goalkeeper completed the Africa Eleven.

The African football body also adjudged Mauritania as the best Men’s national Team of the Year.

The coaches were also recognised with Herve Renard winning Men’s coach of the Year and Desiree Ellis, coach of the Bayana Bayana, winning Women’s Coach of the Year.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.