• follow us in feedly
Football, headlines, Latest, Sports

EPL’s trophy goes to Man City after West Brom defeat Manchester united

By SportDesk,

Manchester City has been crowned English Premier League champions for 2017-2018 winner after West Brom Albion defeated Manchester United 1-0 at Old Trafford on Sunday.

To fans, not that the victory of City was in any doubt, but pundits felt it could be postponed by another week if Manchester United beat the Darren Moore coached West Brom.

The match defied all expectations and permutations as Jay Rodriguez nodded in the only goal of the match in the 73rd minute. United did not recover from the upset.

Despite the victory, West Brom are stuck at the bottom of the table with 24 points.

Manchester City, with five games remaining have 87 points, 16 points more than City rivals, Manchester United.

Victory against Spurs at Wembley had given City an unassailable position to clinch the title. United bowing to West Brom only made things easier.

City celebrated the championship on its website, proclaiming:

“Record-smashing, goal-scoring, swashbuckling and awe-inspiring – boss Pep Guardiola has overseen a scintillating campaign, setting new standards of brilliance in English football.

“This title was not the last-minute miracle of 2012, or the last-day drama of 2014 but rather a serene glide to glory.

“An incredible 18-match winning streak, running from August to New Year’s Eve, saw City surge away from the opposition and take a grip on the table that never loosened.

“In sealing the title at this point, City have equalled the Premier League record for the earliest win held by United since 2001.

“City are only the third club to beat all other teams in a single Premier League season, after Chelsea in 2005-06 and United in 2010-11.”

“The Blues have emerged victorious from all bar five league matches so far to achieve a points total of 87 and lift the English top-flight title for the fifth time in the Club’s history.

“The feat was also achieved in the 1936-37, 1967-68, 2011-12 and 2013-14 campaigns.”

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.